skip to Main Content

Answers to FAQs About Uber & Lyft Accidents in South Carolina

There is no doubt that Uber, Lyft, and other ridesharing companies are extremely popular in South Carolina and throughout the US. You may have even booked a trip recently or will in the near future: According to numbers-crunching online resource Statista, approximately 25 percent of Americans use rideshare services at least once per month. Utilizing a transportation network company (TNC) is affordable, convenient, and a much better alternative than trying to drive after drinking.

However, these advantages do not translate into a safer transportation experience. The risk of Uber and Lyft accidents is similar to other motor vehicle crashes, whether they are caused by the TNC driver or another motorist. Therefore, you may have concerns about your rights as an injured passenger, and a South Carolina auto accident lawyer can provide detailed information. Some answers to frequently asked questions about rideshare collisions may also be helpful.

  1. How does fault work in a rideshare accident? Just like other motor vehicle collisions, fault in an Uber or Lyft crash is based upon the legal concept of negligence. If a motorist breaches the duty to exercise reasonable care when driving, he or she can be held accountable for the losses suffered by an injured victim. If your rideshare driver and another motorist both contributed to the crash, you could have a claim against both parties through their respective auto insurance companies.
  1. What damages can I recover if injured in an Uber or Lyft crash? Compensation in a rideshare collision is based upon your losses as a victim, which are physical, emotional, and/or financial in nature. Depending on your unique circumstances, you may be able to recover for:
  • Medical costs for treatment of your injuries;
  • Lost wages;
  • Pain and suffering; and,
  • Emotional distress.
  1. Are Uber and Lyft collisions covered by insurance? There are very specific insurance laws in South Carolina that apply to TNC entities and their drivers. The TNC is required to comply with the following requirements for purposes of insurance:
  • If the TNC driver is logged into the Uber or Lyft app, but is not engaged in a ride, there must be at least $50,000 in coverage for bodily injury per person AND $100,000 per incident. If you were in another car, a pedestrian, or bicycle rider when the rideshare accident happened, you are covered for these amounts.
  • The insurance requirement during a prearranged Uber or Lyft ride is up to $1 million in coverage. This provision applies if you were the rideshare passenger – or if someone else was a passenger and you were hurt.
  1. How do I seek compensation for Uber or Lyft accident losses? Regardless of whether the rideshare crash occurred while the driver was logged into the app or transporting a user, you will file a claim with the TNC insurer. The insurance company is likely to make a counteroffer, because these organizations are for-profit businesses. They will always look out for their own financial interests, and your claim is a threat to revenue. Still, it may be possible to negotiate a settlement agreement to resolve your claim. If the TNC insurer refuses to settle for a fair, reasonable amount, you will have to file a lawsuit in court.

Trust Our South Carolina Auto Accident Attorneys to Protect Your Interests

Hopefully, these answers to common questions about Uber or Lyft crashes help you understand the basic legal issues. For additional information on your rights and remedies as an injured victim, please contact the Greenwood, SC offices of Powers Law, LLC. We can schedule a free case evaluation with a car accident lawyer who can explain the legal process.

Leave a Reply

avatar
  Subscribe  
Notify of
Back To Top